Chapel of St Curig
Cat's Ash, Monmouthshire
Diocese: Llandaf/Llandaff
OS Grid Ref.: ST37129076
Lat/Lng: 51.6121421183,-2.90949419299
Former medieval church, dedicated to Curig, situated on the Roman Road. It was first recorded as a chapel of Goldcliff Priory in 1536.
Its remains were marked on the second edition of the sixth-inch OS map as St Curig's Chapel in the late nineteenth century, although the dedication is given as Cyriac (Curig, Latin: Cyriacus) by Wade-Evans. By the early twentieth century it had been converted into a farm building. An earlier dedication to Cyfyw has been suggested, drawing on a tentative association with a reference in the twelfth-century Book of Llandaff.More information
National Monuments RecordRichard Morgan, Place-Names of Gwent (Llanrwst: Gwasg Carreg Gwalch, 2005), 62
Sources
A.W. Wade-Evans, 'Parochiale Wallicanum' in Y Cymmrodor (1910), 78
Search for further information about Chapel of St Curig on Google