Capel San Ffraid
Capel San Ffraid, Pembrokeshire
Diocese: Tyddewi/St Davids
OS Grid Ref.: SN116392 approx
Lat/Lng: 52.0191488625,-4.74709033766
Lost chapel dedicated to Ffraid. It was mentioned in around 1600, but is not listed by Browne Willis in the early eighteenth century.
The site is described as a site of pilgrimage by George Owen in around 1600. It is associated with a holy well and other landscape features, notably Pistill San ffred, mentioned in 1418.It is located near to the Iron Age site known as Castell Henllys, which is also close to the church at Meline dedicated to Dogfael.
More information
Francis Jones, The Holy Wells of Wales (Cardiff: 1954), 207–8
B.G. Charles, The Place-names of Pembrokeshire (Aberystwyth: National Library of Wales, 1992), 133
Search for further information about Capel San Ffraid on Google