Church of St Tydecho

Llanymawddwy, Merionethshire

Diocese: Bangor/Bangor

OS Grid Ref.: SH90321905
Lat/Lng: 52.7578881352,-3.62669544691

Church dedicated to Tydecho, although the place-name takes the name of the commote, Mawddwy.

Browne Willis and A.W. Wade-Evans agree on the dedication of the church, although there is no clear evidence for the dedication prior to the eighteenth century.

However, the number of local features and a lost chapel (capel tydacho) in the churchyard point towards Llanymawddwy being at the centre of a cult to Tydecho in the Middle Ages. Tydecho is praised as 'a holy man ... from Mawddwy' in a fifteenth-century poem by Dafydd Llwyd of Mathafarn, which underlines the likelihood that the dedication of the church is much older than the eighteenth century.

Buches Dydecho (Tydecho's Milking Fold) is located on Fridd y Glasgoed, or Llaethnant, about two and a half miles north-west of Llanymawddwy, near the source of the River Dyfi. Further landscape features in te area included Gwely Tydecho, Ffynnon Dydecho and Cadair Dydecho.

Saints linked to this site

More information

National Monuments Record
Church Heritage Cymru
Stained Glass in Wales

S. Baring-Gould & John Fisher, The Lives of the British Saints (London: Honourable Society of Cymmrodorion, 1913), 284–5    View online

Sources

Browne Willis, Parochiale Anglicanum (London: 1733), 221

John Ecton, Thesaurus Rerum Ecclesiasticarum (London: 1754), 488

A.W. Wade-Evans, 'Parochiale Wallicanum' in Y Cymmrodor (1910), 107

Search for further information about Church of St Tydecho on Google